Dr. Abubakar M. Tafida
Ag. H O D

The Department of Psychology, Nasarawa State University Keffi (NSUK) is the third of its kind in Northern Nigeria. It was established, in January, 2002, after the State Law No. 2 establishing the University had been passed in the year 2001. The original conception to establish this Department of Psychology. Nasarawa State University is best attributed to the good reasoning and love for psychological studies of the first V.C. of the NSUK, Professor Adamu D. Baikie, CON, FNAE CMLOR, FNI and Alh. Abubakar Kana; the then Registrar. There was no formal submission of application to start the programmed, only that the Vice Chancellor directed that the department be established given the relevance of the discipline to national development. At inception, the Department had a population of 68 students and


  • Ph.D. Clinical Psychology
  • Ph.D. Forensic And Correctional Psychology
  • Ph.D. Industrial Organizations Psychology
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. Psychology
  • M.Sc. Clinical Psychology
  • M.Sc. Forensic And Correctional Psychology
  • M.Sc. Industrial/Organizational Psychology
  • PGD Psychology
  • B.Sc. Psychology
  • B.Sc. Psychology (Lincoln Uni)

 one assistant lecturer, Miss Florence Nwaiwu (Now, Mrs. Chukwudi John Florence). By April, two other Assistant Lecturers, Mr. Atama Harri and Mr. Nze Chukwuemeka Leonard, joined the Department. It was then that a formal letter was written to Mr. Atama to assume the Coordination of the Department as the first formal Coordinator of the Department. By 2004, three Lecturers: Mrs. Charity Takyun (Graduate Assistant), Mr. Lawrence L. Orkuugh (Assistant Lecturer) and Miss Agatha Inweregbu (Now, Dr. (Mrs.) Agatha Ogwo, Assistant Lecturer) joined the Department. The Department graduated its first set of students in 2005 and successfully got the interim accreditation from NUC in the same year. These achievements were recorded under the academic guidance of Prof. Amechi Nweze and Dr. Andrew E. Zamani who were in the department as part-time members of staff. Today, the Department has 14 lecturers, (13 full time and 3 part time,) and two secretaries. The student population has since grown to Seven hundred students by 2012-2013 academic years. The Department has started post-graduate programmed, M.Sc. and Ph.D. Programmed in some specialized areas psychology in addition to post graduate diploma programmed. department turned her first batch of 68 dents (B.Sc. Hons) Psychology in 2004/5 academic year, see page 26 for the overall student enrolment and graduate output 2001/2002.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements

Five O/Level credits in Government or History, English Language, Mathematics, Biology and three other subjects from Arts, Social Sciences or Science.


Government and any two Arts & Science Subject.

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Francis Bala Aku Professor akwashfba@nsuk.edu.ng
2 Andrew E. Zamani Professor zamaniae@nsuk.edu.ng
3 John Egbeazine Associate Professor oshodie@nsuk.edu.ng
4 Lanshima O. Lawrence Senior Lecturer lanshimaol@nsuk.edu.ng
5 Dr. Alhassan Emmanuel Onu Associate Professor ------
6 Musa Abubakar Tafida Senior Lecturer musaat@nsuk.edu.ng
7 Audu Godiya Lecturer I audugodiya@nsuk.edu.ng
8 Monday Akawu Lecturer I ------
9 Shafa Abdul Yunus Lecturer I shafaabdulyunus@nsuk.edu.ng
10 Laraba Samuel Baba Lecturer I larabasamuel@nsuk.edu.ng
11 Bala Nalah Augustine Lecturer I ------
12 Kenku A. Akeem Lecturer I ------
13 Sani Aboki Oshishepo Lecturer II sanioshishepo@nsuk.edu.ng
14 Hadiza Ibrahim Dahiru Lecturer II hadiza.dahiru@nsuk.edu.ng
15 Sule Ahmadu Sani Lecturer II ------
16 Suleiman Nafisat Ogah Lecturer II ------
17 Umar Shittu Shuaibu Lecturer II ------
18 Doka Jerry James Assistant Lecturer ------
19 Vakpa Iliya Assistant Lecturer ------
20 Anjugu Emmanuel John Graduate Assistant ------
21 Tanimu Hamza Rikum Graduate Assistant ------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries


+234 801 234 5678