Science Laboratory Technology

Prof. Atolaiye Benevolent Orighomisan

The Science Laboratory Technology Department of the Nasarawa State University, Keffi was established after Senate approval on the 26th of March, 2015.

Academic activities in the Department took off officially in the 2015/2016 academic session with Dr. Gideon A. Amuga of the Department of Zoology as the first Head of Department.

The Department took off with four programme/options: Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry and Physics-Electronic Techniques. Three academic staff were involved at take off; the pioneer Head of Department (Dr. Gideon A. Amuga), Dr. U.B.P. Balami and Mrs. Taibat Ibrahim were employed later.


  • (B.Sc. SLT) Biochemistry Technique/Option
  • (B.Sc. SLT) Biology Option
  • (B.Sc. SLT) Chemistry Option
  • (B.Sc. SLT) Physics-Electronics Option

In the 2016/2017 academic session, Dr. (Mrs.) S.S. Audu was appointed as coordinator and later in the 2017/2018 session as Ag. Head of Department. In the 2021/2022 session Dr. Joshua A. Alanana was made Ag. Head of Department. Prof. B.O. Atolaiye became substantive Head of Department in the 2022/20233 session.

The Department took off with forty-two (42) student admitted into the Department and the students were fairly evenly distributed into the four programmes.

The programme is presently fully advertised on the JAMB portal and at present the total number of active students is one thousand, seven hundred and sixty-four (1,764). A great difference from the starting number.

In 2019, the Department was given interim accreditation and earned full accreditation spanning five (5) years in 2021.

The first set of the Department graduated in 2019/2020 session, recording twelve (12) second class upper, seventeen (17) second class lower degrees.

At the meeting of Heads of Department with the Director-General of the Nigeria Institute of Science Laboratory Technology, Ibadan in 2023 Nasarawa State University was approved as the Centre for the Mandatory Professional Examination (MPE) of the Institute covering the North Central Region of Nigeria, taking advantage of the availability of examination venues, laboratories and Computer – Based Test Centres. A total of eighty-five (85) students sat for the Module One of the MPE examination in the Centre at the first instance on October 10 and 11, 2023 (paper I and paper II respectively), while Module 2 (paper III and IV) was written on December 05 and 06, 2023 respectively. In Module One, the Department recorded 75% pass. All students who had re-sit examinations passed the re-sit examinations, sat for the Module 2 examinations with a 100% pass.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements

Five O/Level credits in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics


Biology, Chemistry, either Physics or Mathematics

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Audu Saratu Stephen Senior Lecturer
2 Usman Peter Balami Senior Lecturer
3 Ibrahim Taibat Lecturer II
4 Kabiru Suleiman Madaki Assistant Lecturer
5 Adamu Ibrahim Mohammed Assistant Lecturer ------

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries

+234 801 234 5678