Public Administration

Dr. Becky Aliegba

I am delighted and honored as the Head of Department of Public Administration, Nasarawa State University Keffi to on behalf of the entire department, welcome you to the departmental page. The department of public Administration is one among the first departments established when the faculty of administration came into existence in the year 2002 when the university was born.

Born out of the philosophy to equip students with the knowledge and skills in the theory and practice of public administration, the department is not just a physical space with walls and classrooms; it is a dynamic hub of ideas, intellectual exploration and research. It is a place where minds are cultivated, curiosity is nurtured, and the boundaries of knowledge are pushed. Together, we form a collaborative environment that fosters both individual brilliance and collective achievements.

Manned by a crew of academically qualified, dedication and


  • Ph.D. Public Administration
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. Public Administration
  • M.Sc. Public Administration
  • MPA (General)
  • MPA (Local Government Administration)
  • MPA (Management)
  • MPA (Personnel Administration)
  • MPA (Public Policy Analysis)
  • PGD Public Administration
  • B.Sc Public Administration

commitment staff who are always on hand to teach and provide mentorship in all aspects of teaching and research, their contributions have remained the pillars upon which our department stands tall. This feat has been achieved through the running of seven academic programmes which include: Doctor of Philosophy PhD, Master of Philosophy Mphil, Master of Science MSc, Masters in Public Administration MPA, Postgraduate Diploma PGD, Bachelor of Science BSc Full Time and BSc Part Time all in Public Administration.

It is also worthy to note that, the department has earned its place by working in full realization of one among the objectives for which the university was established, which is to promote the advancement of learning and hold out to all persons without distinction the opportunity of acquiring a university education. This is justified by the recent bold step taken by the university to commence the Open Distance e-Learning system starting with the department of Public Administration.

With this new development, it is believed that we will actively engage with local, national, and international students in different works of life to enhance learning and research to address societal issues and contribute to positive social change and development.

It is therefore be stated without doubt that the Department of Public Administration at Nasarawa State University  aims to be a beacon of knowledge, research, leadership, and innovation, shaping the future of public administration both in theory and practice.

Thank you, as you make yourself a part of this exciting journey together.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements

Five O/Level credits in English Language, Mathematics, Economics, Government / History or civil education and any other subject.


Government, Economics and Any other Art or Social Science subject.

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Charles Nwakeaku Professor
2 Hussaini T. Hassan Professor
3 Abdullahi Mohammed Senior Lecturer
4 Mohammed Slvanus itodo Senior Lecturer
5 Aliegba Becky Ade Senior Lecturer
6 Adokwe Ayinekweyi Comfort Lecturer I
7 Abimiku John Lecturer I
8 Odonye Dauda Yusuf Lecturer I
9 Yusuf Abdullahi Ogwuzebe Lecturer I
10 Mahmud Elems Mahmud Lecturer I
11 Oklobia Omadachi Senior Lecturer -------
12 Bariratu Abdullahi Lecturer II
13 Ibrahim Isah Salisu Lecturer II
14 Yakubu Shehu Ibrahim Lecturer II
15 Esther Dizaho Kadarko Lecturer II
16 Dance Ayuba Maikasuwa Lecturer II ------
17 Ahmed Uthman Omale Assistant Lecturer
18 Baikie Katume Esther Assistant Lecturer ------
19 Sani Suleiman Assistant Lecturer ------
20 Jezhi Godwin Iya Graduate Assistant -----
21 Ibrahim Muhammad Ohikwo Graduate Assistant -----

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries

+234 801 234 5678