Prof. Yako Andrew

B.Sc Zoology started as an academic programme under the Department of Biological Sciences at the inception of the university in the 2001/2002 academic session. Full academic activities began in March, 2002 with following pioneer staff: Silas D. Gyar, James K. Makpo, Gideon A. Amuga and Danladi M. Makut. The first intake of students were eleven in number, all admitted into the Department of Biological Sciences. By 2004 Biological Sciences as a Department was splitted into B.Sc. Zoology, B.Sc. Botany and B.Sc. Microbiology at the end of the 2003/2004 session. These programmes, because self-administering units with coordinators appointed by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Adamu Baikie. The Unit Coordinators were S.D. Gyar (Microbiology),


  • Ph.D. Applied Hydro Biology And Fisheries
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. (Applied Hydrobiology/Fisheries)
  • M.Sc. (Applied Entomology/ Parasitology)
  • M.Sc. (Applied Hydrobiology/ Fisheries)
  • M.Sc. Applied Entomology And Parasitology
  • M.Sc. Applied Hydro Biology And Fisheries
  • B.Sc. Zoology

Augustine O. Ogaraku (Botany) and J.K. Makpo (Zoology). These Units still operated under the Department of Biological Sciences with S.D. Gyar as coordinator. By November, 2005 Dr. H.O.A. Oluma (now a professor) was appointed to head the Department of Biological Sciences while on sabbatical to the university. Biological Sciences then as a Department/hosted the National Universities Commission (NUC) accreditation visit in 2005 during which the B.Sc Zoology and B.Sc Botany programmes successfully obtained full accreditation status while B.Sc. Microbiology obtained interim status.

Dr. E.H. Kwondung (now a professor) took over as head of biological sciences in February, 2007 after Dr. H.O.A Oluma completed his sabbatical leave. During the same year an NUC accreditation/revisited B.Sc. Microbiology and this time the programme obtained full accreditation. The B.Sc Botany programme was renamed plant science and biotechnology in the 2006/2007 academic session with the approval of senate.

The department successfully hosted the Zoological society of Nigeria 3rd National Conference and the Nigerian society for Microbiology in 2006, while the conference of the Nigerian society for plant protection was hosted in September, 2007.

PGD, M.Sc & Phd programs were established in plant science & Biotechnology before the handing over of Biological Sciences to Dr. Y.B Ngwai (presently a professor) in July, 2010. Prof. E.H Kwondung was re-appointed in July, 2011 when the then HOD was elected as Dean of the Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences.

As at February, 2011 Prof. Smart O. Obiekezie took over as the Head of Biological Sciences during the 2012/2013 academic year when Prof. E.H Kwondung left the university to join the newly established Federal University, Lafia.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements

Five O/Level credits in English Language, Mathematics, Biology and two other science subjects


Biology and any other two of Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Amuga Gideon A Professor
2 James K. Makpo Associate Professor
3 Ruth J. Ombugadu Associate Professor
4 Tongjura Joseph Deshi Chingtok Associate Professor
5 Yako Andrew Bmibmitawuza Associate Professor
6 Banyigyi A. Hassan Senior Lecturer
7 Hassan Suleiman Chuntar Lecturer I
8 Abdullahi M. Mohammed Lecturer II
9 Pam Victoria A. Lecturer II
10 Hussaini Fatima Asheadzi Lecturer II
11 Bashiru Abubakar Shafa Assistant Lecturer
12 Yusuf Sulaiman Assistant Lecturer
13 Aliyu Abdulwahab Abdulmalic Assistant Lecturer
14 Yahaya Stephen Olem Graduate Assistant -----

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries

+234 801 234 5678