Natural and Applied Sciences

Nasarawa State University, Keffi > Natural and Applied Sciences
Prof. Makut Danladi

The Faculty is one of the Foundation Faculties of Nasarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK) established in October 2001 alongside the inception of the University. At inception the Faculty started with four academic departments, namely: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Mathematical Sciences and Physics. In October 2002, the Department of Geography as well as Geology & Mining came on-board. The Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology was established in 2006. The first set of students in the Faculty graduated in the 2004/2005 session. The Department of Biological Sciences has since metamorphosed into departments of Microbiology, 

Plant Science & Biotechnology as well as Zoology, while the Mathematical Sciences has metamorphosed into Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics Departments. The Department of Science Laboratory Technology was the last established in 2014, while the Department of Geography was transferred to the Faculty of Environmental Science. Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology was re-named Biochemistry Department in 2019.

Since Science and Technology constitute the cornerstone for development in all spheres of life, the establishment of the Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences at the inception of the University was therefore a rapid response by the administrators of the University to ensure speedy socio-economic growth and technological advances in Nasarawa State and Nigeria as a whole. With the slogan of Nasarawa State as the ‘Home of Solid Minerals’, the establishment of the Department of the Geology and Mining in October 2002 was meant to match words with actions.

Currently, the Faculty has eleven Departments namely: Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology and Mining, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics, Plant Science and Biotechnology, Science Laboratory Technology, Statistics and Zoology, and these departments offer undergraduate (B.Sc.) and postgraduate (PGD, M.Sc. and Ph.D) degrees.

The Faculty is fully committed to teaching, research and community services through the continuous commitment of faculty members which are well experienced in their various disciplines and specialty, and compete favourably with other Universities across the globe. As a Faculty, we take pride in the quality of our teaching and non-teaching staff who are very interested in the success of students in the faculty. All the academic programmes in the Faculty are designed with specific objectives and learning outcomes aimed at producing highly innovative and employable graduates in Science and Applied Sciences with appropriate Information Technology (IT) skills and capacity for creativity. These programmes are all on full accreditation status with National Universities Commission (NUC). The programmes are robust, comparable, problem-solving, and comparable to the best in the world.

The Faculty have been involved in ground breaking researches and has won a number of high-impact research Grants through individual and collective efforts of staff and students of the Faculty. Our services are well-tailored to prepare students to face challenges in real life situations outside the university with high level of success, thereby adding value to the society.




Staff Profile

Name Portfolio Email
Prof. Makut Danladi Dean
Muhammad Bawa Yusuf Ph.D Deputy Dean
Dr. Abubakar Muhammad Auwal Faculty Exam Officer

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries

+234 801 234 5678