Dr. Moses Ajidani
Ag. H O D

The Department of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences, Nasarawa State University, Keffi, came into existence as one of the pioneering departments, at the inception of the university, in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences in the 2001/2002 academic year. The Department started with seventy two (72) students and three (3) academic staff under the headship of Mr. Francis A. Akawu (2002 – 2004). The other two members include Mr. Henry A. Eggon and Mr. Ajidani M. Sabo. The departmental headship was succeeded by Mr. Yusuf D. Bulus (2004 – 2007); Dr. Rabo M. Dakare (2007- 2011); Prof. (Mrs.) Ebele O. Amali (2011- 2013); Dr. Joseph M. Ibbih (2013 – 2014); Prof. Elias D. Anzaku (2014); Dr. Dakare M. Rabo (2014 – 2017); Dr. Salihu H. Muhammed-Gani (2017 – 2019); Late Dr. Bala I. Ahamed (2019 – 2022) and Dr. Moses Sabo Ajidani (2022 – Date.

The department got her first full accreditation in 2017 after gotten an interim in 2004 and failed in 2013 leading to admitting no new sets of 100L students in the 2014/2015 academic session. The department was given approval and has commenced full-time postgraduate programmes in PGD, Economics; M.Sc., Economics and PhD Economics in the 2015/2016 academic session. This was followed by the approval to run full time M.Phil/PhD, Economics and Part-time B.Sc. Economics in the 2017/2018 session; and Professional Masters (PMS) Degree in Economics in the 2018/2019 session.

Since its inception, the department has been committed to high academic and research standard.


  • Ph.D. Economics
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. Economics
  • M.Sc. Economics
  • Masters In Development Economics
  • Masters In Financial Economics
  • Masters In Health Economics
  • Masters In Petroleum And Energy Economics
  • PGD Economics
  • B.Sc Economics

She has successfully graduated fifteen (16) sets of undergraduate students who obtained Bachelor of Science (B.Sc. Hons.) Degree in Economics each at the end of the 2004/2005, 2005/2006, 2006/2007, 2007/2008, 2008/2009, 2009/2010, 2010/2011, 2011/2012, 2012/2013, 2014/2015, 2015/2016, 2016/2017, 2017/2018, 2018/2019, 2019/2020 and 2020/2021 academic sessions. The 2013/2014 session was lost due to the prolonged 2013 ASUU strikes.

Course offerings are in major areas of Economics, namely Microeconomic and macroeconomic theories and policies, Econometrics, Mathematics and statistical Economics, Development Economics, Monetary Economics, Human Resource Economics, Petroleum and Energy Economics, International Economics, Research Methods, Public Policy Economics, Public Finance, Financial Economics, Labour Economics, Political Economics and Environmental Economics.

In addition to teaching economic students, the department is servicing more than twelve other departments in the universities including education, law, public administration, accounting, business administration, political science, sociology, psychology, mass communication, Taxation, geography, entrepreneurial studies and many diploma propgrames.

 Presently, the department has a total of about one thousand fifty students; comprising of eight hundred and fifty undergraduate students, ninety M.Sc students and one hundred postgraduate students; with academic lecturer capacity of nineteen comprising of five professors, two Assoc. Professors, one senior lecturer, three lecturer I, three lecturer II and three Graduate Assistant Lecturer on training.

Presented in table 1 below is the list of existing academic staff in economic department as at October, 2015 together with their rank, area of specializations and qualifications.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements



English Language

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Akawu Audu Francis Professor akawuaudu@nsuk.edu.ng
2 Ibbih Joseph M. Professor ibbihjosephm@nsuk.edu.ng
3 Dakare Rabo Professor dakarerabo@nsuk.edu.ng
4 Elias Anzaku D. Professor anzakueliasd@nsuk.edu.ng
5 Usman Muhammad Muttaka Professor ------
6 Ahmed Eggon Henry Associate Professor ahmedeggonh@nsuk.edu.ng
7 Salihu Habibu M. Associate Professor salihuhabibu@nsuk.edu.ng
8 Angbas Jonathan A. Senior Lecturer avreangbasj@nsuk.edu.ng
9 Osekweyi Joel Odonye Senior Lecturer osekweyijo@nsuk.edu.ng
10 Bala Ahmed Isyaku Senior Lecturer ------
11 Ajidani Moses Sabo Lecturer I saboajidanim@nsuk.edu.ng
12 Amos Atsiya Pius Lecturer I amosatsiyap@nsuk.edu.ng
13 Shuaibu Hashimu Lecturer I ------
14 Mbuh Justice Mulum Lecturer I -----
15 Uger Francis Iorbee Lecturer II francisiu@nsuk.edu.ng
16 Goodman Maryam abu Lecturer II ------
17 Abdul Ibrahim Lecturer II abdul@nsuk.edu.ng
18 Adamu Rukaiya Yahaya Graduate Assistant ------
19 Isah Mohammed Aboh Graduate Assistant ------

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries


+234 801 234 5678