Dr. Salisu Mohammed Raj

Nasarawa State University, Keffi was established under the Nasarawa State Law Number 2 of 2001 as passed by the Nasarawa State House of Assembly. The University officially took off for effective academic activities in March, 2002 following the appointment of the pioneer Vice-Chancellor, Professor Adamu Baikie CON. The Department of English was originally part of the starting-up of the University, housed under the then Faculty of Arts and Social Science which later became separate faculties on their own.


  • B.A English (Full-Time)
  • B.A English (Part-Time)
  • Ph.D. English Language
  • Ph.D. Literature In English
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. English Language
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. Literature
  • M.A. English Language
  • M.A. Literature In English
  • PGD English Language
  • PGD Literature In English
Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements

In addition to the general University entry requirements and requirements for University Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME), candidates seeking admission into Department of English, Nasarawa State University must possess the following requisite requirements:

  • Five credits in the Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (SSCE) or its equivalent in relevant subject areas, including English Language, Mathematics and Literature at not more than two sittings.
  • Admission by Direct Entry, candidates must possess one of the following qualifications:  a) GCE A’Level/IJMB with passes in English and at least one other subject. In addition, candidates are expected to possess five credit passes at GCE/NECO/SSCE O’Level, including English Language, Mathematics and Literature at not more than two sittings. b) National Diploma from approved Polytechnics and its equivalents with a grade not below Lower Credit. This is in addition to the O’Level requirements explained above. Please, note that the Department does not accept Diploma Certificates obtained from Universities.
  • Any other relevant qualification as approved by Senate of the University.

Literature in English, one other Arts subject & another Arts or Social Science subject.

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail
1 Shija Terhemba Professor shijat@nsuk.edu.ng
2 Alagbe Adewole Adigun Professor alagbeaa@nsuk.edu.ng
3 Tanimu Yusuf Senior Lecturer tanimuy@nsuk.edu.ng
4 David Stephen O. Associate Professor davidstephen@nsuk.edu.ng
5 Mohammed Salisu Raj Senior Lecturer salisumr@nsuk.edu.ng
6 Fouzia Banu Jalaluddin Senior Lecturer fouziabj@nsuk.edu.ng
7 Baju Ibrahim Senior Lecturer -------
8 Philip Daniel Mole Lecturer I philipdm@nsuk.edu.ng
9 Yakubu Patience Vintse Lecturer I yakubupv@nsuk.edu.ng
10 Abigail Ambi Andrew Lecturer I andrewaa@nsuk.edu.ng
11 Nkume Augustine N. Lecturer I -------
12 Muhammad Mustapha Lecturer II muhammad.mustapha3@nsuk.edu.ng
13 Ubaidullah Muh'd Bello Lecturer II ubaidullahmuhdbello@nsuk.edu.ng
14 Idris Muhammad Ladan Lecturer II iismuhammadladan@nsuk.edu.ng
15 Azan Baba James Lecturer I azanbabajames@nsuk.edu.ng
16 Umezinwa Jennifer Lecturer II jenniferumezinwa@nsuk.edu.ng
17 Grace Adokwe Lecturer II graceadokwe@nsuk.edu.ng
18 Shehu Ibrahim Ahmad Lecturer II shehuibrahimahmad@nsuk.edu.ng

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries


+234 801 234 5678