Islamic Law and Jurispudence

Nasarawa State University, Keffi > Law > Islamic Law and Jurispudence

The Department was amongst established in the year 2016; however academic activities commenced in the 2018/2019 Session when it admitted a total of 10 students from all over the country. The idea of establishing the Department was to meet or, at least, bridge the gap in the ever increasing demand for legal education in the country.

The Department, at inception, had the following academic staff:

  • Professor M. S. Abubakar who served as the pioneer HOD
  • Halima Doma
  • A. M. J Elesi
  • H. S. Saleh
  • S. U. D. Keffi
  • Abdulganiyi A. Zubaedy, and
  • Rilwanu Suleiman

The numbers of both students and staff have steadily risen from what they were at inception. Staff development has always been a focal point of the Department with a number of our academic staff having already obtained their Ph.D, while all the remaining are either pursuing their Ph.D or Masters in various universities across the country.


  • Ph.D. Law
  • M.Phil./Ph.D. Law
  • LLM (Communications And Information Technology Law)
  • LLM (Constitutional And Human Rights Law)
  • LLM (Corporate Governance And Finance Law)
  • LLM (Energy And Natural Resources Law)
  • LLM (Entertainment And Sports Law)
  • LLM (Intellectual Property Law And Policy)
  • LLM (International Law And Diplomacy)
  • LLM (International Maritime Law)
  • LLM (Investment Law And Policy)
  • LLM (Islamic Banking And Finance)
  • LLM (Law And Government)
  • LLM (Law Enforcement And Administration)
  • LLM (Law Of Alternative Dispute Resolution)
  • LLM (Law)
  • LLM (Security Law And Policy)
  • LLM (Taxation Law And Policy)

The Department, in its 7 years of existence, has had the following persons as HODs, Ag HODs:

  • M. S. Abubakar 2016 – 2018
  • Halima Doma 2020
  • M. S. Abubakar 2020 – 2022
  • S.U. D. Keffi 2022 – Date

The Department runs a five year degree programme in Law leading to the award of the Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL.B Common and Islamic Law).

The Head of the Department is in charge of general administration. The Departmental Board is the highest academic body of the Department, and is responsible to the Faculty Board. The Board consists of the academic staff of the Department, and is chaired by the HOD. The Representative of the Faculty Officer is the Secretary of the Board and is also the Chief Administrative Officer of the Department. The Board meets once every month ordinarily, and may also meet at other times when the need arises.

The academic staff members of the Department are involved in various academic activities which include teaching, research and supervision of long essays or research projects, and also as coaches for moot court trials, level coordinators, staff advisers to students, representation to various university committees, etc.

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board is made up of all lecturers in the Department except Graduate Assistant  with the Head of Department as the Chairman. The Departmental Board organizes and controls the teaching of all courses in the Department and the examination held in those courses.

Name Portfolio
Head of Department (HOD) Chairman
All Academic Staff (Except Graduate Assistant) Member

Entry Requirements



English Language

English Language

English Language

Staff Profile
S/No Name Rank Institutional E-mail

List of Research/Publications

S/No Title Contributors
1 ------------ ------------
2 ------------ -----------
3 -------------- ------------

Upcoming Workshop/Conferences

For any inquiries

+234 801 234 5678