Educational Foundation

Isaac J. Kukwi (PhD) was born at Garaje Kafanchan, Jemaa L.G.A., Kaduna state. His educational qualifications include; PhD in Measurement and Evaluation (NSUK, 2010); M.Ed. in Test and Measurement (UNIJOS, 1990) and B.Sc. (Ed.) Geography Education (UNIJOS, 1985).
His professional affiliations include Member, Nigerian Association of Educational Researchers and Evaluators (NAERC), National association of Research Development (NARD), and Associate Member, Counseling Association of Nigeria. He held many positions of responsibilities among which are; Chairman Nasarawa State University Lecture and Examination Time Table Committee (2002 – Date), Member Housing Committee (2002 – Date).
He has attended many workshops and conferences at home and abroad. Also, he has published some academic works and edited many others.
Department of Educational Foundation,
Faculty of Education,
Nasarawa State University,
P.M.B. 1022, Keffi,
Nasarawa State, Nigeria.
Phone No: 08036122499
The department of education Foundations is the first departments to be established at the inception of the University in January 2001. Dr. C.M. Fuandai was appointed the pioneer coordinator of the Department. Presently, Dr. I.J. Kukwi was appointed as the new head of department.
The pioneer staff of the Department were:

  • Dr. C.M. Fuandai
  • Dr. I.J. Kukwi
  • Mr. D.D. Dauda (late)
  • Mr. U.S. Gbari
  • Mr. J.E. Allan (late)

The staff strength has grown from five (5) at its inception to sixteen (16) in 2010. Out of this number one is on sabbatical.
In 2004, Dr. (Mrs) R.B. Ayanniyi was appointed the Acting Head of Department. The current Head of the Department Dr. C.M. Fuandai was appointed in May 2009. The Department has a population of One Thousand Three Hundred and seventy eight (1378) students for the session.
Currently, the department id handling two (2) major Undergraduate and LVT courses viz:

  • Education Administration and Planning (B Ed.)
  • Guidance and Counseling

The departments also handle the postgraduate courses in the faculty as reflected on the postgraduate list of courses.
Presently, the diploma courses being offered are as follows:

  • Early Childhood Education
  • Special Education
  • Adult Education
  • Administration and Planning
  • Guidance and Counseling
  • Sport Administration and Planning
  • Library and Information Science

A minimum of five credits in relevant subjects including English Language with at least pass in Mathematics.
For Direct Entry into 200 Level of the programme, candidates should pass relevant subjects at credit level at NCE or have equivalent like two relevant passes at Advanced level and three ordinary level relevant subjects.

Assoc. Prof. (Mrs) R.B. Ayanniyi Associate Professor Adminstration and Planning
Assoc. Prof. Andrew Nkem Associate Professor Education Technology
Assoc. Prof. Charles, M. Anikweze Associate Professor Measurement and Evaluation
Dr. Cornelius, M. Fuandai Senior Lecturer Psychology of Education
Dr. Alaku S.P. Orame Senior Lecturer English Education
Dr. M.T. Mu’azu Senior Lecturer Curriculum & Social Studies
Dr. D.K. Omole Senior Lecturer (sabbatical) Measurement and evaluation
Mr. Isaac J. Kukwi Senior Lecturer Measurement and Evaluation
Dr. (Mrs) Comfort C. Otuka Senior Lecturer Psychology of education
Mr. Gbari, U. Sylvester Lecturer 1 Philosophy of Education
Dr. (Mrs) S.N. Emechebe Lecturer 11 Sociology of Education
Dr. (Mrs) N.P. Ngozi Lecturer 11 Administration and Planning
Mr. G.N. Onuoha Lecturer11 Economics education
Rev. Mayange L. Terzungwe Assistant Lecturer CRS Education
Mrs. Jummai Jerry Assistant Lecturer Special Education

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *