The mission of the Department is to build geoscientists that will meet the needs of the world in terms of harnessing the resources of Nasarawa State, Nigeria and the world; and making the environment safer for its inhabitants.


The vision of the Department is to establish a world class learning center where students are trained to compete with their counterparts from every part of the world in the practice of the geoscience profession.

HOD's Message

Coming soon!

Departmental Board

The Head of Department (HOD) is the Chairman of the Departmental Board and Chief Examiner of the Department, and he presides over Departmental meetings. The HOD also interacts with the Vice Chancellor through the Dean, Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences and the DVC (Academics). The HOD controls the administrative staff through the Departmental Secretary and the Technical staff through the Chief Technologist. There is a provision for students’ level advisers who are responsible for course registration and advise their students on academic matters.

1. HOD                                                         - Chairman

2. All Academic Staff Members              - Members

3. Departmental Secretary                      - Secretary

Brief Profile

The Department of Geology and Mining was established in 2002 barely a year after the inception of the University with an initial student population of 16. In its current 18 years of existence, the Department has gradually grown with facilities that can host close to 400 students at a time. Additionally, its academic staff strength has grown from the initial 5 to about 17 comprising of fourteen academic staff covering nearly all fields of geology and interests, and three non-academic staff. The Department currently runs postgraduate courses ranging from PhD in Geology (with options in Mineral Exploration, Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology, Sedimentology/Petroleum Geology and Environmental Geology); MSc in Geology (with options in Mineral Exploration, Sedimentology/Petroleum Geology, Hydrogeology/Engineering Geology and Environmental Geology) and Postgraduate Diploma in Geology and Mining. The Department at inception was headed by Mr Nzegbuna (2002-2004). Subsequently Professor N. G. Obaje was head of Department between 2004 to 2009, Dr A. Moumouni (2009-2011), Mr N. G. Goki (2011-2013), Dr B. S. Jatau (2013-2014), Dr A. B. Oleka (2014-2018). The Department, currently headed by Dr N. G. Goki (an Associate Professor) since 2018 to date has steadily maintained a full accreditation level with its average undergraduate student enrolment of 50, and postgraduate enrolment of about 30 spanning through the PhD, MSc and Postgraduate Diploma programmes. It has also enjoyed a wide range of Industry cross-fertilization linkages with the Oil Industry, Mineral Exploration Companies, Federal Ministries and Agencies resulting in a turn-out of averagely Industry-Ready graduates over the years. The Department currently has academics who are fully registered with COMEG, NMGS, GSA, offer services as Resource persons and Consultants to a wide range of audience covering the public and private sectors. It also has memorandum of understandings with Institutions, Agencies and Laboratories internationally and within the country where staff and students link up with for their researches. The most recent of these collaborations include The Polish Geological Institute – National Research Institute Warsaw, Poland; Mineral Economy and Energy Research Institute of the Polish Academy of Sciences Krakow, Poland. The NSUK Center for Medical Geology Research the first Chair to be endowed in the world is about to be inaugurated.


1. BSc Geology and Mining

2. Postgraduate Diploma in Geology and Mining

3. MSc Geology (Mineral Exploration)

4. MSc Geology (Sedimentology/Petroleum Geology)

5. MSc Geology (Hydrogeology/Engineering Geology)

6. MSc Geology (Environmental Geology)

7. PhD Geology (Mineral Exploration)

8. PhD Geology (Sedimentology)

9. PhD Geology (Hydrogeology/Engineering Geology) 

10. PhD Geology (Environmental Geology)