The mission is to improve the teaching of all science subjects and courses at all levels of education in the state to fully equip youths of Nasarawa State and the Nation at large with science and technology skills, knowledge and attitudes.


  1. The Vision of the Department is to be the epic centre for inculcating in students sound scientific knowledge that will make them become effective science teachers.
  2. Students to acquire skills and principles for effective application in classroom and laboratory.

HOD's Message

The pioneer HOD was Prof. J.O. E.  Otuka, 2002-2004, followed by Prof. B.C. Uzoechi, 2004 – 2015,  Dr. P. A. Agu,served as HOD from 20015 -2018 while Dr. Sambo, M. A. Hudu served from April, 2018 – June, 2018.  Prof. M. J. Adejohwas  appointed HOD from July, 2018  to date. The Mission and Vission of programme that make up the department (STME)

Departmental Board

 1 Prof. Adejoh, M.J.     Professor/HOD
 2 Prof. Otuka, J.O.E.      Professor

Brief Profile

Nasarawa State University, Keffi was conceived by the First Executive Governor of Nasarawa State Senator (Dr) AbdullahiAdamu (Sarkin Yakin Keffi).  The University was established in February 15th 2001 by a law passed by the state House of Assembly.  However, the University took-off in January 2002, following the acceptance by the Nasarawa State Government of the report of the Advisory Committee on the establishment of the University.  Professor AdamuBaikie who was Chairman of the Advisory Committee was subsequently appointed the interim Administrator of the University.  Faculty of Education was one of the seven Faculties established with Science, Technology and Mathematics Education as one of the Departments in the Faculty.


  • Available undergraduate programmes are:

  • Biology Education
  • Chemistry Education
  • Integrated Science Education
  • Physics Education
  • Mathematics Education
  • Agricultural Education
  • Home Economics Education
  • These regular undergraduate programmes are also available at the Long Vacation Programme (LVT).

    The following programmes are also available at the postgraduate level:

  • M.Ed, Science Education
  • PhD, Science Education
  • M.Ed, Mathematics Education
  • PhD., Mathematics Education