The mission of the department is to produce graduates equipped with critical skills and abilities with optimistic mission and commitments for the advancement of the state and the country educationally.


As a centre for producing world class professional teachers in liberal Arts and Social Science Education towards improving and increasing the manpower development needs for the state and the country.


HOD's Message

  1. To engage in the promotion of manpower development through training, re-training and research with appropriate methodologies in the area of teacher education and any other professional field of Education.
  2. To stimulate positive change in the Nigeria education institution through research by strengthening its capacity and capability in manpower production so that it could be competitive with what obtains elsewhere in the world.
  3. To provide any person or persons with ideas, plans, strategy, advice, information and any assistance required using the global best practice to promote culture of quality in education with particular focus on higher education institutions.

Departmental Board

 1  Abdulkareem Yunusa  Chairman
 2  Professor Orame P.S Alaku  Member
 3  Professor Lubasa N’ti Nseendi   Member
 4  Mrs Rebecca Isaac Umaru  Member
 5  Mr Vintseh Iliya MondayUsman  Member
 6  Mr Joseph Yaro Bawa   Member
 7  Mr Aris Emmanuel Addra   Member
 8  Mr Usman Abubakar   Member
 9  Ahmad Tijjani   Member
 10  Mr John Abashi Abede  Member
 11  Moga Ezekiel     Member


Brief Profile

The Arts and Social Science Education (ASSE) department was carved out of the department of Educational Foundations in July 2010.

Serial number 1-7 were established in 2001/2002 session under the department of Educational Foundation while serial no 8 and 9 were established in 2009/2010 session and 2019/2020 session respectively.

The first set of graduates graduated in 2010.The department was led by Professor Muhammad T. Mua’zu from 2010 to February 2013, Professor Lubasa N’ti Nseendi from 2013 – February 2016 and Professor Orame P.S Alaku from February 2016 – February 2019 and currently Dr. Abdulkareem Yunusa from 2019-Date.

The department has gotten Full Accreditation in 2013 for all his programmes except Arabic Education which has just been given approval to commence in 2020/2021 academic session. And approval has also been given for Post-graduate programmes in English Education effective from 2019/2020 academic year.


  1. Economics Education
  2. Geography Education
  3. CRS Education
  4. English Education
  5. Social studies Education
  6. IRS Education
  7. History Education
  8. French Education
  9. Arabic Education