Vision, Mission

The department has the following vision and mission:

  • To produce competent French graduates for the job market. This is achievable through language and translation courses.
  • To expose such graduates to the socio-cultural and political lives of French people’s of Africa and the world at large. This is achievable through culture, literature and civilization studies.

To initiate students for self-actualization through research and further studies.


HOD's Message

The Department of French, Nasarawa State University, Keffi is one of the foremost Departments in the Faculty of Arts of the University. The Department has qualified hands in various areas of specialization in the study of language and literature. This is why it has been able to produce notable scholars in the field of French Studies at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

Departmental Board

All the academic staff of the Department are Board members of the Department of French, Nasarawa State University, Keffi. The board is headed by the Head of Department.


The Department runs both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

The Undergraduate Programme(s):

  1. Bachelor of Arts French
  2. Students of French Education i.e B. A. (Ed) French attend French courses in the department

The  Postgraduate Programmes:

  1. Postgraduate Diploma in French
  2. Master of Arts (French Language)
  3. Master of Arts (Literature in French)
  4. Doctor of Philosophy (French Language)
  5. Doctor of Philosophy (Literature in French)