The overall mission is to produce academically sound and professionally competent graduates who are able to facilitate increased production and utilization of agricultural raw materials as well as making self-sufficiency in food production


The Department vision is to contribute significantly in increasing agricultural productivity, improving socio-economic status of farmers and enhancing rural development in Nasarawa State and Nigeria at large.


HOD's Message

The Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension is among the pioneer Departments created in the Faculty since 2004. The Department currently offers seven programmes namely:B. Agriculture; PGD Agricultural Extension and Communication; PGD Farm Management and Production Economics; M.Sc Agricultural Extension and Communication; M.Sc Agricultural Economics; PhD Agricultural Extension and Communication; and PhD Agricultural Economics. The Department has churned out many reputable graduates and postgraduates with Bachelor and M.Sc Degrees respectively. The Department, with the support of its dedicated and hardworking staff, also plays high premium on quality research and community service.

Departmental Board

 1 Dr. S. I. Audu  HOD
 2 Dr. O.E. Galadima  Member
 3 Dr. E.S. Salau  Member
 4 Dr. A.A. Girei  Member
 5 Dr. H.S. Umar  Member
 6 Dr E. G. Luka   Member
 7 Mrs E. Alu  Member


Brief Profile

The Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension, Faculty of Agriculture, Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Shabu- Lafia campus was established in 2004. The Department focuses its learning activities on enhancing agricultural productivity and, dissemination of latest agricultural information and improved technologies that are critical to the rural development, poverty alleviation and competitiveness. The broad objective of the Department is to prepare students for careers such as professional agricultural economists, agricultural extensionists, and rural sociologists in the public and private sectors of the national economy.


  1. B. Agriculture
  2. PGD Agricultural Extension and Communication
  3. PGD Farm Management and Production Economics
  4. M.Sc Agricultural Extension and Communication
  5. M.Sc Agricultural Economics
  6. PhD Agricultural Extension and Communication
  7. PhD Agricultural Economics